News Article

IG Toolkit Version 7 Release (01/07/2009)

Version 7 of the IG toolkit has now been released.

This version of the toolkit contains the new 3-stage reporting process for the large NHS trusts (i.e. Acute trusts, PCTs, foundation trusts, mental health trusts, ambulance trusts and strategic health authorities).

If you are undertaking an IG assessment for one of these organisation-types you must carry out the following stages:

  1. Baseline assessment by 31 July 2009 - Enter your current IGT assessment scores for each requirement.
  2. Performance update by 31 October 2009 - Enter revised scores for any requirement on which you have made improvements or to correct previously entered scores.
  3. Final submission by 31 March 2010

Your organisation's in-year performance will be tracked by your SHA IG lead, who should be your first port of call in the event of difficulties in meeting the toolkit attainment levels. Details of your SHA IG lead are below.

Name

Organisation

E-mail

Tel No

Andrew Tuckwell

South West

Andrew.Tuckwell@southwest.nhs.uk

07966 487983

Clive Thomas

South Central

Clive.Thomas@southcentral.nhs.uk

07825 448324

Helen McElroy

North East

helen.mcelroy@northeast.nhs.uk

0191 210 6485

Julie Lee-Winser

South East Coast

Julie.Lee-Winser@southeastcoast.nhs.uk

07879 432000

Katherine Tyte

North West

katherine.tyte@northwest.nhs.uk

01925 406 069

Malcolm Finney

East of England

Malcolm.finney@nhs.net

01223 597771

Shane Dark

West Midlands

shane.dark@nhs.net

07765 385130

Amanda Johashen

East Midlands

Amanda.johashen@eastmidlands.nhs.uk

0115 968 4516

Stephen Elgar

London

s.elgar@nhs.net

0207 969 5748

Trevor Parsons

Yorkshire & Humber

Trevor.Parsons@yorksandhumber.nhs.uk

0113 2952082


Queries about the content of the IGT requirements and IG Policy issues should continue to be sent to NHS CFH Helpdesk (exeter.helpdesk@nhs.net)

New reporting functionality has been made available in the IG toolkit to assist SHAs. In particular, the Performance Progress Report will enable them to monitor the performance of all NHS trusts and PCTs in their area. This report (also available at an individual organisation level), provides information about baseline, performance update, latest and submitted scores. It also highlights progress on the Information Governance Assurance Framework requirements, which are also the key requirements required for the IG Statement of Compliance and referred to in the NHS Operating Framework.

Further information about the new reporting functionality is available in the version 7 “Getting Started” document. A final Change Control Notice is also available, providing more detailed information on any changes to the requirements within the toolkit and where those changes can be found (for example within the text in a guidance document).
Download the new Change Control Notice here. 

Marie Greenfield
Information Governance Policy Manager
Digital Information Policy
NHS Connecting for Health


Page Processing Time: 0.03 seconds
Page Render Time:  seconds
Supported By: SOCITM society logo SOCITM Local CIO Council logo Directors of adult social services logo